Become one of our Trustees

Trustees are appointed to the ECCT Board for a four-year term by the Minister of Finance, under the Community Trusts Act 1999.  As well as seeking nominations from the Trust, the Minister can receive applications directly from interested parties. The appointment process is managed by the Department of Internal Affairs.

To apply, you must reside within the Trust’s legislative boundary (Tairāwhiti, Hawke’s Bay, Manawatū, Tararua, Horowhenua, Wairarapa), and have significant networks within the region. This should be coupled with a passion to see everyone in our region succeed, and support for our vision, values and strategy.

To find out more about Trustee appointments, and key dates for applications, please visit the DIA website or contact

Note – closing dates for expressions of interest in Community Trusts positions are normally in June.