Existing users

  • Home
  • ECCT Commits to Climate Action Aotearoa

ECCT Commits to Climate Action Aotearoa

In October 2021, a collective of Community Trusts launched Climate Action Aotearoa: the Funders Commitment on Climate Action.

Climate Action Aotearoa signals the beginning of a collective willing to take considered action on climate change in Aotearoa. The aim is for all funders in Aotearoa to join and for philanthropy to enable the big shifts we all need to make.

The seven-part commitment is guided by Te Tiriti o Waitangi and mātaurangi Māori aspirations. It focuses on a just transition, collaboration, and leadership. Significantly, it includes reporting back to our communities and stakeholders the actions that signatories undertake.

A guiding whakataukī (proverb) highlights the importance of the collaborative effort:

Ki te kotahi te kākaho, ka whati; ki te kāpuia, e kore e whati | When reeds stand alone they are vulnerable, but together they are unbreakable.

– Kingi Pōtatau Te Wherowhero Tāwhiao

The commitment is designed to be a high-level document that other New Zealand philanthropic funders are encouraged to sign up to. To read the full commitment and join the efforts, please visit www.climateactionaotearoa.co.nz.

The Community Trusts of Aotearoa New Zealand who have undersigned this commitment include Foundation North, Trust Waikato, BayTrust, Toi Foundation, Eastern and Central Community Trust, Wellington Community Fund, Rātā Foundation, The Community Trust of Mid and South Canterbury, Otago Community Trust and Community Trust South; as well as Biome Trust Aotearoa.

The Funders Commitment is a call to action for philanthropy in Aotearoa – we are stronger and can make a much greater difference together, come join us!